Members of the Council

The Council members are appointed by Royal Decree on the recommendation of their ministers. The Council is not a political body, but does have a feel for administrative relations. The Council has three members who are appointed based on their expertise, for four (4) years each. Members may be reappointed for four years. The chairmanship rotates annually among its members. The Consensus Kingdom Act for the Law Enforcement Council mentions in Article 8 the following with respect to appointment of members of the Council: 1. Members of the Council are appointed based on the expertise needed to perform the duties of the Council. 2. Members must have the Dutch nationality. 3. Members are not involved in occupations that may have an undesirable effect on the proper execution or the inherent trust of their duties or on their impartiality and independence. Formula for taking the oath or affirming pledge by the members of the Council: I swear/affirm that I will be faithful to the King, and obey the statutory regulations. I swear/affirm that I have not given or promised any gift or favor, directly or indirectly, under any name or pretext whatsoever. I swear/affirm that I have never accepted and will not accept, either directly or indirectly, under whatever name, any gift from any person of whom I know or suspect that he is or will be involved in any inspection, whereby my official duties might be required. So help me God ! This I declare and promise.


Mr. M.R. Clarinda

On February 22nd, 2019, Mrs. Migdala Clarinda was appointed as a member of the Law Enforcement Council. After completing her studies in Dutch law, specializing in International and European law at Leiden University, Mrs. Clarinda worked as a legal policy officer for the former Island Council of Sint Maarten. From 2007 to 2011 she worked as legal counsel at the Princess Juliana International Airport (PJIA), where she was also chairman of several internal committees as well as interim manager of human resources. In 2012 Mrs. Clarinda was appointed secretary director of the Council of Advice of Sint Maarten. At the end of 2013, she returned to PJIA, this time as chief of administration and executive of four departments: legal affairs, human resources, quality assurance, and compliance. Since 2017 she has been working as an entrepreneur via her consulting business A1 Consultancy Services & Solutions; specializing in legal, compliance and management advice for companies and (semi-) government agencies.

Additional Positions of Mr. Migdala Clarinda:

  1. Independent Entrepreneur at A1 Consultancy Services & Solutions.
  2. Member of the Audit Team for Sint Maarten.
  3. Chairperson of the Supervisory Board for St. Eustatius Utility Company N.V.
  4. Member of the Supervisory Board for Saba Care Foundation.

mr. M.I. Koelewijn

Mr. M.I. Koelewijn Marylène Koelewijn was appointed as a member of the Council for Law Enforcement on March 1, 2022. She completed her studies in Dutch law, specializing in criminal law, at Erasmus University in Rotterdam. After working in the business sector for several years, she held various positions within (and outside) the public prosecution service, most recently serving as Deputy Chief Public Prosecutor. From 2016 to 2022, she served as a commission member of the Oversight Committee for Intelligence and Security Services (CTIVD).

Additional Positions of Mrs. Mr. M.I. Koelewijn: Coach, including at the Judicial Training Institute Foundation (Stichting Studiecentrum Rechtspleging or SSR). Paid position.